What are OFAC sanctions list and sanctions programs?

The Office of Foreign Assets Control ("OFAC") of the US Department of the Treasury administers and enforces economic and trade sanctions based on US foreign policy and national security goals against targeted foreign countries and regimes, terrorists, international narcotics traffickers, those engaged in activities related to the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, and other threats to the national security, foreign policy or economy of the United​ States.

OFAC publishes lists of individuals and companies owned or controlled by, or acting for or on behalf of, targeted countries. It also lists individuals, groups, and entities, such as terrorists and narcotics traffickers designated under programs that are not country-specific.

  • Specially Designated Nationals List
  • Consolidated Sanctions List
  • Additional OFAC Sanctions Lists

OFAC administers a number of different sanctions programs. The sanctions can be either comprehensive or selective, using the blocking of assets and trade restrictions to accomplish foreign policy and national security goals. OFAC sanctions programs:

  • Counter Narcotics Sanctions
  • Counter Terrorism Sanctions
  • Cuba Sanctions
  • Iran Sanctions
  • North Korea Sanctions
  • Syria Sanctions
  • Ukraine-/Russia-related Sanctions
  • Venezuela-related Sanctions​
  • Complete List of Sanctions Programs and Country Information