What are Australian Sanctions Office partners?

ASO works with a network of federal partners, including the Department of Defence, AUSTRAC, Department of Home Affairs, Australian Border Force (ABF) and Australia Federal Police (AFP), to promote compliance with Australian sanctions law and respond to possible breaches.

ASO and Defence Export Controls (DEC) work closely to implement Australian sanctions law. In many cases, an export will require both a sanctions permit and a DEC permit, requiring consideration by both agencies. ASO frequently requests from DEC technical assessments regarding the export of goods and technology to inform our decisions on permit applications. ASO also works with the Department of Home Affairs, which administers UNSC travel bans and violations of the Customs Act 1901.

ABF and AFP remain at the forefront of the enforcement of Australian sanctions law. ABF may stop exports to or from sanctioned countries where they suspect a breach of sanctions law. In such cases, ASO will work with ABF, DEC and other agencies as appropriate to assess whether a breach of Australian law has occurred and to take corrective or enforcement action as appropriate. ASO may refer breaches of Australian sanctions law to AFP and ABF for investigation, which can lead to criminal prosecution.

The Department of Home Affairs is responsible for implementing all visa restrictions in respect of travel bans listed under Australian sanctions law.